UVM Libraries: Religion: Judaism

Judaism

Encyclopaedia Judaica (2nd ed)
[Print: REF REF DS 102.8 .E496 [1972] (16 vols plus supplements, 1973-1990/91)] Encyclopedia of Jewish religion and culture in the Diaspora and in Israel. Contains articles on a variety of secular and religious subjects.
Cambridge History of Judaism
Online: vols 1-4. also, Print: BM 155.2 .C35 1984 (vols 1-4, 7-8) [2nd floor]
Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion
Oxford Handbook of Jewish Studies

New Encyclopedia of Judaism Comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia that presents every aspect of the Jewish religion and represents current thinking among scholars in the Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements. Includes biographical profiles; commentaries on selected prayers; coverage of folklore and traditions; essays on contemporary issues, such as women's roles.
Call Number: REF BM 50 .E63 2002
Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism and Jewish Culture Authoritative source which defines the spiritual and intellectual concepts and religious movements that distinguish Judaism and the Jewish experience. Essays explore Jewish history from ancient times to the present and consider all aspects of Judaism, including religious practices and rituals, legal teachings and legendary traditions and rationalism, mysticism and messianism, secular and political movements and achievements and delineate Jewish endeavors in areas including the arts, sciences, sports, etc.
Call Number: REF BM 50 .C26 2011

Sefaria
From the website: For the Jewish people, our texts are our collective inheritance. They belong to everyone and we want them to be available to everyone, in the public domain or with free public licenses. Whether it’s copying a page of text for your classroom or downloading our entire database for research and new projects, you’ll enjoy unfettered access to the canon.