UVM Libraries: Religion: Islam

Reference Works - Islam

Encyclopaedia of Islam
Call Number: REF DS 37 .E523 (12 vols+Index) [Brill Pub.]
Provides an authoritative synthesis of important aspects of Islamic life, including religion, culture, and politics. Note: very scholarly, and not for the faint of heart.
Concise Encyclopedia of Islam
Call Number: REF BP 40 .C66 2001
Entries drawn from the first edition and supplement of Encyclopaedia of Islam [Brill])

New Cambridge History of Islam
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
This reference work includes articles on the history, religion, cultural practices, and political economies of Muslims from the seventh-century in West Asia to today's Muslim societies throughout the continents of Asia, Africa, the Subcontinent, Europe, and the Americas.

Medieval Islamic Civilization : an encyclopedia
Call Number: REF DS 36.85 .M434 2006 (2 vols)
Provides a survey of Islamic civilization from the seventh-sixteenth century, including the many scientific, artistic, and religious developments as well as all aspects of daily life and culture.

Popular Dictionary of Islam
Call Number: REF BP 40 .N48 1992
Quick answers for the general reader
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures v. 1. Methodologies, paradigms and sources -- v. 2. Family, law and politics -- v. 3. Family, body, sexuality and health -- v. 4. Economics, education, mobility and space -- v. 5. Practices, interpretations and representations -- v. 6. Supplement & index.
Call Number: REF BP 173.4 .E53 2003 (6 vols)
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
Call Number: REF DS 35.53 .O96 2009 (6 vols)
Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States
Call Number: REF BP 67.U6 E53 2007 (2 vols)

Encyclopaedia Iranica
Dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.

American Journal of Islam and Society
Journal of Islamic and Muslim Studies
From the NAAIMS (North American Association of Islamic and Muslim Studies), published out of Indiana University Press
Journal of Islamic Studies
From Oxford University

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
Call Number: REF BP 133 .E53 2001 (6 vols)
Dictionary of Qur'anic Terms and Concepts
Call Number: REF BP 133 .M57 1987
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures v. 1. Methodologies, paradigms and sources -- v. 2. Family, law and politics -- v. 3. Family, body, sexuality and health -- v. 4. Economics, education, mobility and space -- v. 5. Practices, interpretations and representations -- v. 6. Supplement & index.
Call Number: REF BP 173.4 .E53 2003 (6 vols)

Historical Atlas of Islam, 2nd ed
Call Number: REF QUARTO G 1786 .S1 H6 2002 [Brill Pub.]
Historical Atlas of Islam by G.S.P. Freeman-Grenville and Stuart Christopher Munro-Hay
Call Number: REF G 1786 .S1 F7 2002
Historical Atlas of Islam by Malise Ruthven
Call Number: REF G 1786 .S1 R9 2004 [Harvard University Press]

Columbia gazetteer of the world
Encyclopedia of geographical places and features - ancient and modern.