You'll find our collection of tangible government publications on the ground floor of the Howe Library, one flight down from the library entrance. (Most of the government's recent publications are available online.)

Access

• The collection is stored on tall, compact shelving and in cabinets.
• The collection is accessible any time the Howe Library is open. (Library Hours)
• If you need help finding and retrieving a document, please ask at the Government Information Office (adjacent to the collection), or at the  Reference Desk or Circulation Desk on the main floor of the Howe Library.
• Some parts of the collection are located outside the library in the Library Research Annex. These materials may be requested to be brought to the Howe Library for use; please inquire at the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Borrowing Materials

• Most U.S. documents in the circulating collection can be checked out to UVM students, faculty, and staff, as well as those who hold UVM guest borrower cards (see Who can Use the Library?). Please bring the item to the Circulation Desk on the main floor.

Arrangement and Call Numbers

• Unlike the library's main collection, U.S. Government publications are arranged using SuDoc (Superintendent of Documents) call numbers, with publications grouped by the agencies that produced them (e.g., Agriculture, Interior, Defense, etc.). Information about this organizational system is available at "Structure of the Classification Number."
   
• The collection has several sections:

Reference (indicated by red stack labels; cannot be checked out)

Indexes and finding aids, encyclopedias, statistical sets

Non-Circulating (indicated by yellow stack labels; cannot be checked out)

U.S. Reports
Code of Federal Regulations
Public Papers of the Presidents
Trials of War Criminals Before the Nuernberg Military Tribunals
Trial of the Major War Criminals
Nazi Conspiracy and Aggression
Foreign Relations of the United States
Documents on German Foreign Policy, 1957-1990
Treaties and Other International Acts of the United States of America
United States Treaties and Other International Agreements
Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America
Handbook of North American Indians
Census publications
United States Statutes at Large
House Journal
Senate Journal
United States Code
Congressional Record and its predecessors
Congressional Serial Set

Circulating (indicated by green stack labels; most can be checked out)

Physical Electronic Resources (CDs, DVDs, and microfilm in cabinets; cannot be checked out)

Microfiche (in cabinets around the perimeter of the print collection; cannot be checked out; may be read and scanned using the computer station near the collection)

Oversize (Aisle 82; cannot be checked out)

Posters (in Map Room, top drawers of cabinets 6 and 7)