UVM Libraries: Art and Art History: Background Information

Major Reference Works

Grove Art Online
This resource is the online version of the Grove Dictionary of Art, the standard encyclopedia for Art History. It contains thousands of in-depth entries, including recommendations for further reading. Search or explore by time period, type of work, or location. This resource is also useful for locating biographical information and images.

American Art Directory
Call Number: N 50 .A54 (Reference)

ISBN: 0872178439

Names, addresses, and other information on art organizations, schools, museums, magazines, exhibitions and more.
Artists and Graphic Designer's Market
Call Number: N 8600 .A76 (Reference)

ISBN: 1582975000

Names, addresses and other information on book publishers, magazines, galleries and other markets for art, as well as artists' representatives and web sites.
Artists Techniques and Materials
Call Number: N 7430 .F8413 2006 (Reference)

ISBN: 0892368608
Bulfinch Guide to Art History
Call Number: N 380 .B85 1996

ISBN: 082122137X

Survey of Western art from ancient times to the present combines a section of thirteen essays with a dictionary of more than five thousand terms.
Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art by Hope B. Werness; Hope D. Werness
Call Number: E 98.A7 W49 2000 (Reference)

ISBN: 0826411568

Publication Date: 2000-06-01

Covers aesthetics, anthropology and mythology within tribal or indigenous non-Western art and includes hundreds of entries and illustrations.
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art
Call Number: N 7560 .H34 2008 (Reference)

ISBN: 0813343933

2008 edition of James Hall's classic text on symbols in art.
More information about this book
Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art
Call Number: N 6940 .C54 1998 (Reference)

ISBN: 0192800922

Print and online editions available.
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography by Helene E. Roberts (Editor)
Call Number: N 7560 .E53 1998 (Reference)

ISBN: 1579580092

Publication Date: 1998-04-01

Two volume work that provides essays on common themes represented in the visual arts.
Encyclopedia of World Art
Call Number: N 31 .E4833 1959-1987 (Reference)

Seventeen volume translation of Enciclopedia universale dell’ Arte.
History of Art by Janson
Call Number: N 5300 .J3 2007 (Reference)

ISBN: 0131934783
Oxford Companion to Art
Call Number: N 6510 .084 1993 (Reference)

ISBN: 019866107X
Oxford Dictionary of Art
Call Number: N 33 .O93 1997 (Reference)

ISBN: 0198604769

Online and print versions available. Online version is the more recent 2004 edition.
Oxford History of Classical Art
Call Number: N 6510 .O84 1993 (Reference)

ISBN: 0198143869
Penguin Concise Dictionary of Art History
Call Number: N 5300 .F64 2000 (Reference)

ISBN: 0670100153

Libraries

Research Guides

Ask the Libraries

Contact Us

Today's Reference Desk Hours

Art and Art History

Major Reference Works