Finding Articles - NR 3010: Research Methods - Fisher & Kutner (2024-25)

Finding Articles for this class and others ...

Try these featured databases for environmental topics.
** If using from off-campus, you will be prompted for your UVM login upon clicking on a database to which the library subscribes. Login for access.

Academic Search Premier
An interdisciplinary index to journal articles and partially full-text database that includes many references and full text articles on natural resources, ecology, and environmental topics. A highly recommended starting point for accessing journal articles on research areas in natural resources. Coverage: 1970s - present.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
This resource is a multidisciplinary compendium of databases that covers broadly: agriculture, environmental sciences, pollution, energy, ecology, air and water quality, and other environmentally related topics. It includes references to journal articles, reports, books, conference proceedings and government publications. It contains citations with abstracts and some links to full text.
Environment Complete
This resource references journal and periodical articles, conference papers, and monographs in broad areas related to the environment, including but not limited to: ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution, law, policy, social and human impacts, and planning. It includes some full text and links to full text.
GEOBASE
This resource covers the fields of physical and cultural geography, earth sciences, ecology and natural resources, as well as international development-related topics. Coverage includes scholarly journal literature, magazine articles, product reviews, directories, conference proceedings, and reports. It includes bibliographic citations with abstracts and links to full-text articles.
Google Scholar
This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. Google Scholar's coverage is extremely broad and sometimes more up-to-date than other databases - but its non-selective coverage may include lower-quality publications.

This link to Google Scholar will enable UVM affiliates to easily link through to materials to which we have access.
Sustainability (JSTOR)
This resource, the first of JSTOR’s thematic collections, provides full text access to broadly interdisciplinary academic and open policy research on environmental sustainability and includes a wide range of journals, ebooks, and open access research reports.
Web of Science
This resource provides access to the scholarly literature across disciplines, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and more. It includes a cited reference search feature that enables users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work, analyzes search results by discipline, and creates citation reports of a set of search results.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
This resource provides references to journal articles, books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, and other hard-to-find literature on all wildlife-related topics. It includes abstracts with some links to full text.

Using CATQuest

CATQuest is called a discovery tool and is a Google-like “meta” academic search engine designed to search broadly and return very large sets of results.

It searches lots (not all) of the content in databases subscribed to by the library. It is the big search box on the UVM Libraries home page.

Interdisciplinary Research

The study of the environment is broadly interdisciplinary and, depending on the nature of your research, you may find references to environmentally related scholarly journal literature in databases across the wide range of disciplines.

Look at Research Databases (subject) for further resources that will be useful to you. (Click on the Browse by subject link on the right side of the screen). Comprehensive interdisciplinary research involves using a variety of research databases.

Searchable electronic journal collections

JSTOR
This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary database of the full content of archival issues of scholarly journals. Issues published within the last 3-5 years are generally not covered. It also provides citations to books and pamphlets provided by JSTOR in digital format.
Project Muse
This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary full-text database of scholarly journals primarily in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It also provides citations to books provided by Project Muse in digital format.
Springer Journals
This publisher platform provides full-text access to articles, journals, chapters, books, and reference works in the sciences and social sciences.
ScienceDirect
This resource covers journal literature and e-books from Elsevier in the sciences, social sciences, health sciences, and humanities.
NOTE: In December 2020, UVM Libraries cancelled this subscription. Materials that we purchased through 2020 and selected open access materials can still be accessed through this database. Many additional items can be identified through this tool and, if unavailable via ScienceDirect, can be obtained for UVM affiliates at no charge through our Interlibrary Loan Service (ILL) by clicking on the "Find it at UVM" links within ScienceDirect.
Wiley Online Library
This resource is a collection of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals covering a broad range of academic disciplines. Some e-book titles are available as well, which can be recommended for purchase.

Libraries

Research Guides

Ask the Libraries

Contact Us

Today's Reference Desk Hours

NR 3010: Research Methods - Fisher & Kutner (2024-25)

Finding Articles for this class and others ...

Using CATQuest

Interdisciplinary Research

Searchable electronic journal collections