UVM Libraries: Theatre: Costume: Dictionaries: Costume, Textiles, etc.

Definitions: Clothing & Dress and Related Topics

Berg Companion to Fashion
Available online through Berg Fashion Library.
To view the contents of the individual title: Access the database -> Click "Advanced Search" -> In the Advanced Search box, type The Berg Companion to Fashion -> change the search field to "Book Title" -> Click the black Search button.

ROW 5

Dictionary of English costume by C. Willett Cunnington
Call Number: REF GT 507 .C8 1960a
Dictionary of Fashion History by Valerie Cumming, et al
Call Number: REF GT 507 .C86 2010
Dictionary of English costume, by C. Willett Cunnington was a comprehensive catalogue of fashion terms from the mid-medieval period up to 1900 (see above entry). Dictionary of Fashion History updates and supplements the Cunningtons' work to bring it up to the present day. However, the earlier version is still useful and should be consulted.
Dictionary of Fashion History by Valerie Cumming, et al
Call Number: Online (e-book)
The above book is available online through Berg Fashion Library.
To view the contents of the book: Hover over "Browse" in the top toolbar and click "Content Type." On the next page, simply click Dictionary Entry to view the alphabetical list of entries.

ROW 12

Fairchild Books dictionary of textiles, 8th ed. by Phyllis G Tortora, et al
Call Number: REF TS 1309 .F34 2014
Encyclopedia of Textiles by Judith Jerde Spanning nearly 5000 years of textile history, this book covers the field from the first practical and decorative use of fabrics to the introduction of modern synthetic materials. Organized in an A to Z format, the work provides information on fabric, fabrication methods, machine processes (felting, weaving) and more. At the same time, the book also covers methods of producing and treating fabrics, such as block printing, calendering and delustering. Biographies of major textile and fabric innovators are also included.
Call Number: REF TS 1309 .J47 1992
Fairchild Books dictionary of fashion, 4th ed. by Phyllis G Tortora, et al
Call Number: REF TT 503 .C34 2014
Fashion Dictionary; fabric, sewing, and apparel as expressed in the language of fashion by Mary B. Picken (Editor)
Call Number: REF TT 503 .P5 1973
Apparel production terms and processes, 2nd ed. by Janace E Bubonia
Call Number: REF TT 494 .B83 2017
Dressmaker's Dictionary by Ann Ladbury
Call Number: REF TT 503 .L333 1982
An illustrated dictionary of hairdressing and wigmaking Containing words, terms, and phrases current and obsolete, dialectal, foreign, and technical, used in Britain and America pertaining to the crafts of hairdressing and wigmaking; also words derived from these crafts having a wider use, but excluding, with some necessary exceptions, medical, chemical and scientific terms.
Call Number: REF TT 951 .C6

Libraries

Research Guides

Ask the Libraries

Contact Us

Today's Reference Desk Hours

Theatre: Costume

Definitions: Clothing & Dress and Related Topics