UVM Libraries: English & American Literature : Medieval-18th Century: E-Texts (licensed databases)

E-Texts - Licensed Databases

Early English Books Online
This resource provides searchable access to literary and historical works in all subjects printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere, from 1473-1700.
ProQuest-generated (vendor) GUIDE to searching this database.
Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800)
This resource contains primary source materials related to American history, literature, culture, and more. Items include digital images of books (hymnals, literature, travelogues, diaries, cookbooks, maps, textbooks, and more), broadsides, and pamphlets published in the United States between 1639 and 1800.

American historical periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society
This collection of magazines provides a history of the American people from the colonial period (late 1600s) through to the early twentieth century (1922). The periodicals focused on American concerns and were predominantly, though not exclusively, published in the U.S. or Canada.

British History Online
This resource is a collection of digitized primary and secondary sources relating to British history from the 11th through the 19th centuries. Types of materials include Parliamentary, legal, church, and local histories.
UVM does not have access to premium content from this site.
Colonial State Papers
This resource, created by the British National Archives, is a collection of primary source documents from the 16th to 18th centuries relating to Britain's presence and activities in America, Canada, and the West Indies. Many documents are available as full-text images, while others have descriptive bibliographic information.
American State Papers, 1789-1838
This resource provides access to primary sources related to the Early Republic of the U.S. It includes full-page images of documents, reports, maps, and statistics from Congress and other federal government agencies.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
This resource provides primary and secondary resources related to the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.

Oxford Handbooks Online
The titles in this multidisciplinary series offer authoritative surveys of original research in a particular subject area. Specially commissioned essays from recognized scholars in the discipline give critical examinations of the progress and direction of debates, as well as a foundation for future research.

Cambridge Histories Online
This resource is a cross-searchable collection of titles that provide in-depth, scholarly histories on a wide variety of topics in U.S. and world history, and the history of specific disciplines. Full-text content is available for each title; many comprise multiple volumes. The following may be of particular interest: