Part of the Middle English Compendium. Collection of Middle English texts assembled from works contributed by University of Michigan faculty and from texts provided by the Oxford Text Archive, as well as works created specifically for the Corpus by the Humanities Text Initiative.
Portal and research environment devoted to digital projects concerning the Middle Ages. Many primary texts and images are accessible by subject, author, and other categories. Use the Advanced Search to refine by format, discipline, genre, etc.
Anthology and guide to English literature of the Middle Ages, Renaissance, 17th Century, Restoration and 18th Century. Includes sections on medieval drama and Renaissance drama.
Publishes electronic scholarly annotated editions of early English drama and texts of related interest, from late medieval moralities and Tudor interludes, occasional entertainments and civic pageants, academic and closet drama, and the plays of the commercial London theaters, through to the drama of the Civil War and Interregnum.
This digital initiative of the UCal-Davis is a collection of electronic text editions of poetry by British and Irish women written (not necessarily published) between 1789 and 1832, a period traditionally known in English literary history as the Romantic period.
Collaborative project of Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester, and Oxford. Digitized substantial runs of six 18th and 19th century journals, covering a ten or twenty run from each. Browse or search the journals. This is an archive of the website, which was last updated in 1999.
This resource is a collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820. Open to the public for research and teaching purposes, EADA is published and supported by the University of Maryland.
Supported by the American Antiquarian Society and Common-place: The Journal of Early American Life, this website provides a body of publicly available scholarly transcriptions of early texts.
Miscellaneous Special Topics
The Camelot Project[University of Rochester] This Robbins Library Digital Project is designed to make available a database of Arthurian texts, images, bibliographies, and basic information.
The Crusades Project[University of Rochester] This Robbins Library Digital Project provides a bibliography with annotations of narratives that take their influence and inspiration from the historical crusades, with a current focus on English and American literature.
The Robin Hood Project[University of Rochester] This Robbins Library Digital Project is designed to make available a database of texts, images, bibliographies, and basic information about the Robin Hood stories and other outlaw tales.
Georgian Papers OnlineThe Georgian Papers Programme from Britain's royal archives aims to digitize 350,000 documents in the archives' collection of Georgian papers.
The digitization and cataloging of these documents will allow them to be searched and analysed in a variety of ways. While the majority of the collection comprises papers from George III, papers from Kings George I, George II, George IV and William IV will also be made available.
Broadside Ballads Online[Bodleian Libraries-Oxford] Presents a digital collection of English printed ballad-sheets 16th-20th centuries, linked to other resources for the study of the English ballad tradition.
Word on the StreetThe National Library of Scotland's online collection of nearly 1,800 broadsides lets the reader see what 'the word on the street' was in Scotland between 1650 and 1910.
The Salem Witchcraft PapersPart of the website "Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive and Transcription Project." Transcription of the Court Records. Digital edition of the original three volumes, edited by Paul Boyer and Stephen Nissenbaum (Da Capo Press: New York, 1977).
Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive and Transcription ProjectThis project consists of an electronic collection of primary source materials relating to the Salem witch trials of 1692 and a new transcription of the court records. Includes transcripts of various 17th century documents, historical maps, links to archival collections.
