Supported by the American Antiquarian Society and Common-place: The Journal of Early American Life, this website provides a body of publicly available scholarly transcriptions of early texts (with a focus on short texts or collection of texts, fewer than 30 pages).

This is a sister project to the "Just Teach One" website (see above), whose focus is lesser-known early African American text, usually 30 pages or less.

A searchable full-text collection of 19th-century American adult fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction 1851-1875. This compilation is part of his three-volume set listing American fiction from 1774 through 1900, and is considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult fiction of the 18th and 19th centuries.

Collaborative digitization project between Cornell and U of Michigan. Digital library of primary sources (primarily journals and monographs) in American social history from the 2nd half of the 19th c. Browse or search the collection. Each institution holds different collections. Cornell's collection is now available through Hathi Trust.

Collaborative digitization project between Cornell and U of Michigan. Digital library of primary sources (primarily journals and monographs) in American social history from the 2nd half of the 19th c. Browse or search the collection. Each institution holds different collections.

Digital publishing initiative that provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections (including North American Slave Narratives) of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

[Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, The NYPL] Digital collection of @52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. Includes brief biographical profiles.

This is a digital edition of the "Complete Works of Ralph Waldo Emerson," Centenary Edition, edited and with notes by Edward Waldo Emerson.

Large collection of historical British travel writing from 12th-19th centuries.

The National Library of Scotland's online collection of nearly 1,800 broadsides lets the reader see what 'the word on the street' was in Scotland between 1650 and 1910.

Collaborative project of Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester, and Oxford. Digitized substantial runs of six 18th and 19th century journals, covering a ten or twenty run from each. Browse or search the journals. This is an archive of the website, which was last updated in 1999.

Directed by two UK professors, this website indexes British "little magazines" from 1850-1942. Limited full-text. Some overlap with the Modernist Journals Project.

This digital initiative of the UCal-Davis is a collection of electronic text editions of poetry by British and Irish women written (not necessarily published) between 1789 and 1832, a period traditionally known in English literary history as the Romantic period.

This project began in 1995 at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of authors, both prolific and rare. The project aims to expand its scope to include women writing in the nineteenth century in English.

[Bodleian Libraries-Oxford] Presents a digital collection of English printed ballad-sheets 16th-20th centuries, linked to other resources for the study of the English ballad tradition.

This resource is a collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820. Open to the public for research and teaching purposes, EADA is published and supported by the University of Maryland.

A joint project of Brown Univ and Univ of Tulsa, this project is a major resource for the study of modernism in the English-speaking world, whose mission is to produce digital editions of culturally significant magazines from around the late 19th century to early 20th century.

Aggregating peer‑reviewed digital objects from 145 federated sites, this portal and research environment is devoted to peer-reviewed digital projects concerning the 19th century in Britain and America. Many primary texts and images are accessible by subject, author, and other categories. Use the Advanced Search to refine by format, discipline, genre, etc.