Cite & Write - REL 133: Islam and Modernity - Morgenstein Fuerst (Fall 2019)

Using Information Responsibly

Recognizing and Avoiding Plagiarism (Cornell University Library)
While the Cornell student is the intended audience, this guide provides practical advice to benefit all students.
Quoting and Paraphrasing Sources
(UW-Madison Writing Center)
Harvard Guide to Using Resources

Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)
Call Number: REF Z 253 .U69 2017 (Reference Desk)

Chicago Manual of Style Quick Guide
This guide is hosted on the University of Chicago Press website.
Chicago Style (OWL at Purdue)

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 9th ed. by Kate L. Turabian
Call Number: REF LB 2369 .T8 2018 (Reference Desk)
The 9th ed. is fully aligned with the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, and Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date.

Oxford English Dictionary Print: REF PE 1625 .O87 1989 (20 vols) and REF PE 1625 .O92 1993 (3 vols) The "OED," originally called New English Dictionary on Historical Principles, is the definitive guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, tracing the usage of words from across the English-speaking world through quotations from international English language sources. Its intention was to record every word used in English since 1150 and trace it back through all its shifting meanings, spellings and uses to its earliest recorded appearance, plus at least one citation for each century of its existence. The online version can be searched in a variety of ways: by word; phrase; definition; etymology; by author of the quotations which shows how the use of a word has changed over time. It is not exhaustive in its coverage of standard vocabulary and is limited in its treatment of slang, dialect, scientific, and technical terms, so other dictionaries should be used as well.
Oxford Dictionary of English
Oxford Paperback Thesaurus
Oxford Dictionary of English Grammar
Fowler’s Concise Dictionary of Modern English Usage
Oxford Dictionary of American Usage and Style