Provides information on cross-cultural issues for recent immigrants. Includes collection of patient information sheets on general clinical topics such as cancer, HIV/AIDS, mental health, etc. in 10 languages.
Includes 13 million+ citations from 1,249 journals from 14 countries such as Argentina, Cuba, Portugal, and South Africa. Full text for all articles is available.
Peer-reviewed journals published in developing countries. Offered through the INASP organization (International Network for Advancing Science and Policy)
Suggested Searches for Global Health Topics in PubMed
Statistics – WHO’s gateway for health-related statistics for 194 member countries. Monitors global, regional, and country specific health situation and trends. Includes theme pages that focus on health priorities e.g. mortality, infectious disease, etc. Some charts and data can be downloaded into Excel.
Created and maintained by the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation at the University of Washington. Self-described as “the world’s most comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health related data.”
Delivers real-time intelligence on a broad range of emerging infectious diseases. Data is gathered from a wide variety of sources including online news aggregators, eyewitness reports, and validated official reports. A mobile app is available.
Contains 6,600+ datasets from 1,000+ sources that are free for anyone to use. Focuses primarily on Africa, but also covers countries in other parts of the world.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Provides an overview of the health care system in 24 countries. Data can be search by country name or by features such as who is covered, health care quality, costs, etc.
Includes 250+ indicators on topics such as health financing, incidence of non-communicable diseases, nutrition, etc. Can generate reports on specific indicators and countries, which can be downloaded.
Portal that provides access to all public World Bank data on developing countries around the world. Can be searched by keyword or browse by country or indicators such as education, environment, gender, health, poverty, etc.
