The Agricultural Marketing Service “administers programs that facilitate the efficient, fair marketing of U.S. agricultural products.” AMS manages the National Organic Program and provides information about organic production, handling and labeling standards. Under “Farmers Markets and Local Food Marketing,” the website also provides information about direct-to-consumer marketing practices and grant programs to assist local food producers.

This website, sponsored by EPA’s National Agriculture Center, provides information about agricultural compliance with environmental regulations. Specific topics covered on this website include organic farming, integrated pest management, composting, pollution prevention, sustainability, and water protection.

This service allows you to search the resources provided by your Cooperative Extension Service using a Google Custom Search Engine that includes many of the Cooperative Extension web sites provided by your Land-Grant institutions.

Publications from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

The Organic Farming Research Foundation sponsors organic farming research and education projects through a competitive grant program. The website provides information about current grant proposals, as well as links to funded projects; there is also a publications section which includes information related the intersection of organic farming and local food systems.

The Rodale Institute is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the research of organic farming, providing information on: conversion to organic farming, the impact of climate change on farming, and the intersection between nutrition and agriculture. The website also includes news and reports about the Farming Systems Trial, their long-running comparative study of conventional chemical agriculture and organic agriculture.

SARE, sponsored by the National Institute of Food and Agriculture, provides grants and outreach to “advance sustainable innovations to the whole of American agriculture.” The website provides information about current funding opportunities for sustainable agriculture, as well as links to reports from past SARE-funded projects. There are also links to a number of publications that cover sustainable agriculture, economics and marketing, and education and training.

The Turfgrass Information Center selects materials according to a broad definition of turfgrass, which is defined as grass or grass-like ground covers used in golf courses, parks, sports fields, lawns, sod farms, roadsides, institutional grounds, and for other utility, recreational or aesthetic purposes. From United States Golf Association (USGA) Turfgrass Research Committee and the Michigan State University (MSU) Libraries.