UVM Libraries: Statistics: Statistics & datasets

Recommended sources: general

These sources provide access to nation-wide data sets, though many contain data that can be refined to the state or local levels.

Contact your librarians for help selecting an appropriate resource for your study subject.

American Fact Finder
Locate data about communities, people, and topics. Provides and number of searching and browsing options.
Census.gov
Clearing house for information collected by the US Census Bureau. Includes information about people, communities, business, and industries.
Gallup
An organization specializing in public opinion polls.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
This resource has data holdings that encompass a range of academic disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, history, economics, international relations, gerontology, public health, criminal justice, and education. Data collections consist of raw data files and code-books. Data sets can be downloaded directly to a user's computer for use with statistical software.

National Center for Education Statistics
Reports and data on all levels of education in the US collected and produced by the US Department of Education. Search for data or view extensive annual reports (including Digest of Education Statistics).

Catalyst
This resource provides data from the MRI-Simmons USA study (the successor to the National Consumer Study), a survey of U.S. adults (18 and older), covering demographics, attitudes, lifestyle behavior, consumer behavior and intentions, brand preferences, and media consumption. Users must create their own cross-tabulations; step-by-step instructions are available at https://researchguides.uvm.edu/Catalyst.
OECD iLibrary
This source provides access to Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) statistics, articles, and books related to economics and economic development.

Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center conducts studies on a variety of topics, including "Internet & American Life" and "Social and Demographic Trends."

Roper Center For Public Opinion Research
Use this source to find data from public opinion surveys administered since the 1940s.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
This resource provides access to comprehensive summary statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Learn more about using this resource from the publishers guide.
World Bank DataBank
This resource is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a wide variety of social and economic topics. Data can be downloaded in multiple formats and there are advanced features for creating queries and generating customized tables, charts and maps.

These sites provide access to data collected from the UVM community or within the state of Vermont.

Contact your librarians for help selecting an appropriate resource for your study subject.

UVM Office of Institutional Research
Data about UVM students, faculty and more. Includes enrollment, demographic information about students, majors, access to UVM data connected to National Survey of Student Engagement.
Center for Rural Studies: The Vermonter Poll
UVM's Center for Rural Studies conducts state-wide polls of Vermont residents on a range of policy issues.
Center for Rural Studies: Data & Info Resources
A collection of data resources on a range of social and economic issues affecting Vermonters. Recommended: the Vermont Community Data Bank.
Center for Rural Studies: Vermont State Data Center
Provides quick access to Vermont data from the U.S. Census.
Vermont Department of Labor
Information about employment and the workforce in Vermont.

CATQuest: datasets
CATQuest, the Library's online discovery service, provides access to more than 1.4 million datasets. Click the link to browse or use the search box below.