Home - ENGL 1207A: LASP - Writing Sustainability - Grosvenor (Fall 2025)

Welcome

This guide will help you find library materials for your writing projects, including magazine articles in print and online, scholarly journals, and relevant books and eBooks, including reference sources for background information or topic exploration. Use my contact information on the right if you have questions or want to meet to talk about your research.

Summer Read

You Are Here: Poetry in the natural world by Ada Limón
Call Number: PS595.N22 Y68 2024

ISBN: 9781571315687

Publication Date: 2024

Published in association with the Library of Congress and edited by the twenty-fourth Poet Laureate of the United States, a singular collection of poems reflecting on our relationship to the natural world by fifty of our most celebrated contemporary writers.

An Evening with Ada Limón

UVM Calendar of Events -

https://events.uvm.edu/event/an-evening-with-ada-limon

Tuesday, November 4, 2025 4:30pm to 6pm, Ira Allen Chapel and Online

More information on Poet Laureate, Ada Limon, from the Library of Congress

Reference Books & Writing Guides

This is a small selection of writing guides and reference books and eBooks. Subject-specific encyclopedias and other reference sources can help you discover and define concepts, find other recommended sources, and gather keywords for database searching.

A Field Guide for Science Writers by Deborah Blum (Editor); Mary Knudson (Editor); Robin Marantz Henig (Editor)
Call Number: T11 .F52 2006

ISBN: 9780195174984

Publication Date: 2005

This is the official text for the National Association of Science Writers. Never has it been more crucial for the lay public to be scientifically literate. That's where science writers come in. Howe Library, 3rd floor.
Ideas into Words: Mastering the craft of science writing by Elise Hancock; Robert Kanigel (Foreword by)
Call Number: T11 .H255 2003

ISBN: 9780801873294

Publication Date: 2003

This book covers the essentials of science writing: finding story ideas, learning the science, opening and shaping a piece, polishing drafts, overcoming blocks, and conducting interviews with scientists and other experts who may not be accustomed to making their ideas understandable to lay readers. Howe Library, 3rd floor.
The Oxford Book of Modern Science Writing by Richard Dawkins (Editor)
Call Number: Q171 .O87 2008

ISBN: 9780199216802

Publication Date: 2008

Selected and introduced by Richard Dawkins, The Oxford Book of Modern Science Writing is a celebration of the finest writing by scientists for a wider audience. Howe Library, 3rd floor.
Best Science Writing: Readings and insights by Robert Gannon (Editor)
Call Number: T11 .B46 1991

ISBN: 9780897745925

Publication Date: 1991

Features 12 award-winning and compelling examples of science journalism. Background and perspective for each of the selected articles is provided through the editor's commentary, which is based on interviews with the authors. This anthology offers a variety of styles, methods, and techniques that work for the science writer. Howe Library, 3rd floor.
Achieving Sustainability by Macmillan Reference USA (Editor); Debra Rowett (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028662015

Publication Date: 2014

A two-volume encyclopedia containing more than 130 signed entries; covers economic and environmental ideas, as well as governance, demographic, and socio-cultural aspects of the concept.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia: Extinction by Gale Editors (Editor); Melissa McDade (Editor)
ISBN: 9781414490670

Publication Date: 2013

Written for students and general researchers, this supplement explores all aspects of extinctions and extinct life. Entries are written by nationally renowned subject specialists.
Encyclopedia of Climate Change by Salem Press
ISBN: 9781637003725

Publication Date: 2022

More than 500 essays and extensive back matter written specifically to provide students with a comprehensive and convenient source of information on the fundamental science, sociopolitical issues, and controversies surrounding climate change.