Books and Reference - CHEM 2020: 2nd Year Seminar: Communication Skills - Waterman (Fall 2024)

Search for Books and More

CATQuest is our library's discovery tool, which searches both our library catalog (books, journals by title, DVDs) and also a large selection of our databases (scholarly articles across multiple disciplines).

TIP: Limit to "EBooks" and "Books - Print" to hide article results.

NOTE: CATQuest can be a great place to get started. That said, once you get further into your research you will want to use the more targeted, subject-specific databases listed under "Articles and Journals".

Online Reference Tools

E-EROS (Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis)
This resource provides detailed information on more than 5,000 reagents and catalysts. Content is accessible via alphabetical browse or text search.
Organic Reactions
This resource selectively offers over 200,000 of the most important and useful synthetic reactions; reviewed & refined by chemists. Features critical detailed discussions of mechanism, scope, and limitations of reactions. Contains tabular survey of all known examples of organic reactions to date, as well as safety and procedural guidance.

Dictionaries and Handbooks

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 97th Edition
Call Number: REF QD65 .H3
Location: Howe Library, 1st floor check status
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Call Number: REF QD5 .C5 2002
Location: Howe Library, 1st floor check status

Industrial chemicals, nomenclature, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology. Providing identification of chemical substances by name, physical properties, source of occurrence, CAS number, chemical formula, potential hazards, derivations, synonyms, and applications.
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
Call Number: REF QD65 .L63 1999
Location: Howe Library, 1st floor check status

Provides a compilation of facts, data, tabular material and experimental findings in every area of chemistry. Includes a section on separation methods and analytical chemistry.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Call Number: ONLINE

Over 21,000 entries including Information on a broad range of topics, including definitions for terms from the fields of bioinformatics, biophysics, cell biology, chemistry, genetics, immunology, mathematics, microbiology, pharmacology, systems biology, and toxicology.
Oxford Dictionary of Chemical Engineering
Call Number: ONLINE

In over 3,400 concise and authoritative A to Z entries, provides definitions and explanations for chemical engineering terms in areas including: materials, energy balances, reactions, separations, sustainability, safety, and ethics.
Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry
Call Number: ONLINE

Libraries

Research Guides

Ask the Libraries

Contact Us

Today's Reference Desk Hours

CHEM 2020: 2nd Year Seminar: Communication Skills - Waterman (Fall 2024)

Search for Books and More

Online Reference Tools

Dictionaries and Handbooks