Articles and Databases - CHEM 2020: 2nd Year Seminar: Communication Skills - Waterman (Fall 2024)

Selected Journals

The below sources can be helpful to browse to look for topic ideas:

Trade/Professional Publications:

Review Journals:

Core Databases

SciFinder-n
This database produced by Chemical Abstracts Services, provides comprehensive coverage of chemical information, including chemical substances, references, reactions, chemical supplier, and regulated chemicals. Scholarly content includes journals, patents, books, theses, and conference proceedings. Allows filtering for review articles.
In order to use SciFinder Scholar you must first register for a personal account (only UVM affiliates are eligible for an account). You will need this personal account information to login to the database each time you use it.
Reaxys
This resource searches Beilstein (organic chemistry), Gmelin (inorganic and organometallic chemistry) and patent chemistry databases. It contains scholarly literature, compound properties, patents, and chemical reaction data. Allows filtering for review articles.
Web of Science
This resource provides access to the scholarly literature across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, symposia, workshops, and more. It includes a cited reference search feature that enables users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work. Allows filtering for review articles.

Article Sources

ACS Publications
A division of the American Chemical Society (ACS), the ACS Publications database provides Web access to more than 30 magazines and peer-reviewed journals published or co-published by the Publications Division. Content is discoverable and linked in SciFinder, but this entry point allows you to browse content.

Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) publications
This resource provides access to current and historical content from the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) and its forerunner societies. It contains searchable full-text of 44 peer-reviewed journals, more than 1,500 books, and a collection of online databases and literature updating services. Article coverage is from 1841 to current, with reference-linking in articles published after 1990. To browse for content, click "Journals" in the top navigation bar.

Strategies For Developing Topics

Browse the selected journals on this page
If you find an interesting topic in a substantive/trade/professional or other publication, look for the associated original research article
Follow citations backwards and forwards to discover new content (what did this article cite? what cited this article?)
Look through review articles

Follow A Citation

Find Journals
First, search by journal title to see if UVM Libraries subscribes. Click on the relevant result to see the location and dates of access.
Interlibrary Loan
If we don't have access via the "Find Journals" link above, you can place an interlibrary loan request. This service will deliver you an electronic copy of the item for free.

Working Off Campus?

To access UVM Libraries databases and subscription content from a non-campus network, simply use the links on research guides or the library website. You will automatically be asked to login with your NetID and password if you aren't already logged in in another tab.

If you ever have trouble or aren't sure if you're logged in, you can manually log in here.

Still having trouble? Ask us.

Libraries

Research Guides

Ask the Libraries

Contact Us

Today's Reference Desk Hours

CHEM 2020: 2nd Year Seminar: Communication Skills - Waterman (Fall 2024)