UVM Libraries: Engineering: Articles & journals

Display of Opening hours
Hours Monday, May 19, 2025
Dana Health Sciences Library	7:30am – 11:00pm
Dana After Hours Study	11:00pm – 7:30am

Display of Opening hours
Hours Monday, May 19, 2025
Howe Library	8:00am – 6:00pm
Reference Desk	10:00am – 3:00pm
Media Services	8:00am – 4:00pm
Maps	M-Th by appointment, email govdocs@uvm.edu

Display of Opening hours
Hours Monday, May 19, 2025
Silver Special Collections Library	10:00am – 5:00pm
Billings North Lounge Study	9:00am – 5:00pm

Article databases: general

Compendex
This resource is one of the largest and broadest databases covering all areas of engineering. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, trade magazine articles and conference papers. Records have links to citation data and full-text holdings.
Inspec
This resource covers international literature in the fields of engineering and physics. It provides citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, book reports and dissertations. Its coverage includes comprehensive indexing of IEEE publications.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to the scholarly literature across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, symposia, workshops, and more. It also has the powerful ability to do reference searching, enabling users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work.
Google Scholar
This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. Google Scholar's coverage is extremely broad and sometimes more up-to-date than other databases - but its non-selective coverage may include lower-quality publications.

This link to Google Scholar will enable UVM affiliates to easily link through to materials to which we have access.

Electrical & Computer Engineering

IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Comprehensive collection of information in electrical and computer engineering, including journal articles, magazine articles, book chapters, conference proceedings and standards.
Inspec
This resource covers international literature in the fields of electrical engineering, physics, and computer science. It provides citations to journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, book reports and dissertations.
ACM Digital Library
Full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.

Environmental Engineering

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Multidisciplinary compendium of databases that covers broadly: environmental sciences, pollution, energy, ecology, air and water quality, policy issues. Includes references to journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, and government publications. Default search screen searches across multiple databases.

Transportation Engineering

Transportation Research Integrated Database
The largest database of transportation research, indexing more than one million journal articles, technical reports, books, conference proceedings and more. Combines records from the US Transportation Research Board and the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Open access.

Find a journal

Journals
Search the UVM Libraries' journals directory.

Help

Some databases will give you access to the full text of the article. (Sometimes you need to look around the page for a link to "PDF".)

Some databases also include citations. These provide details about the article's publication - but not the full text.

Have you found a citation and you need the full text?

1. Look for a Find It@UVM button. This will search the library's collections for a full-text version.

If the library does not have a full-text version, it will guide you through the steps for requesting an interlibrary loan (ILL), a free service for getting a copy from a different library.

2. Don't see a Find It@UVM button? Submit an ILL request here.

Subject librarian

Graham Sherriff

(he/him)

Email Me

Contact:

graham.sherriff@uvm.edu or MS Teams chat

Liaison to:
College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences, US Patent and Trademark Office

Subjects: Computer Science, Data Science, Engineering, Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics

Libraries

Research Guides

Ask the Libraries

Contact Us

Today's Reference Desk Hours

Engineering