UVM Libraries: Nursing Resources for Students and Faculty: Nursing Quicklinks

Research Databases

Use these databases to find original research articles.

CINAHL Complete This resource provides bibliographic records, some with links to full text, for the research and professional literature in nursing and other allied health fields such as physical therapy and athletic training.
PubMed This free resource comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. This resource is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Ovid MEDLINE This resource is used to find scholarly and evidence-based articles from journals in medicine, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care administration, plus allied health fields and biosciences.
Google Scholar This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. Google Scholar's coverage is extremely broad and sometimes more up-to-date than other databases - but its non-selective coverage may include lower-quality publications. This link to Google Scholar will enable UVM affiliates to easily link through to materials to which we have access.
Web of Science This resource provides access to the scholarly literature across disciplines, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and more. It includes a cited reference search feature that enables users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work, analyzes search results by discipline, and creates citation reports of a set of search results.
PsycINFO This resource contains international scholarly articles in peer-reviewed journals, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology, education, and the social, behavioral and health sciences. PsycINFO is the most comprehensive database for literature in the psychological sciences.

Please see the Research Databases page for a full list of our electronic resources.

Clinical Databases

Use these databases to quickly find evidenced-based information.

NatMed Pro This resource, formally Natural Medicines, is an evidence-based, full-text resource for information about natural medicines and complementary therapies. Detailed monographs are provided for hundreds of foods, herbs, and dietary supplements, including information about their safety and effectiveness, dosing and administration, adverse effects, interactions, and references.
UpToDate This resource contains descriptions of medical diseases and disorders and is designed to be consulted by health care practitioners as they evaluate potential clinical diagnostic and treatment options. It also includes drug information, medical calculators, images, patient information in English and Spanish, continuing medical education modules, and links to full-text journal articles.
VisualDx This resource is a diagnostic decision support system designed to aid health care practitioners in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases. As the clinician enters patient findings, it creates a differential diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases, drug reactions, and infections. The database contains many images from people of different ages, skin colors, body size, and other variations that can affect the recognition of these visible symptoms of disease.

You may also want to consider searching the TRIP or AHRQ's Evidence Based Reports databases.

Drug Information

These databases provide drug-specific information:

Merative Micromedex This resource is a collection of drug and toxicology databases, including Martindale, Material Safety Data Sheets, Physician's Desk Reference (PDR), POISONDEX, and others. Together, these provide comprehensive information about drugs, diseases, and toxicology, as well as drug interactions, IV compatibility, laboratory tests, product lookups, dosing calculators, and CareNotes for patient education.
NatMed Pro This resource, formally Natural Medicines, is an evidence-based, full-text resource for information about natural medicines and complementary therapies. Detailed monographs are provided for hundreds of foods, herbs, and dietary supplements, including information about their safety and effectiveness, dosing and administration, adverse effects, interactions, and references.

DailyMed - Great source for FDA label information (package inserts) for 94,842 drug listings.

Check out the Drug Information Guide for more suggestions.

Connect from Off Campus

You can use all of our online resources from off campus. This tutorial will show you how to connect using your UVM NetID and password.

What's my NetID/password?

Key Nursing Journals

Almost all of our nursing journals are available online. Click a title below and navigate to the issue you want to read or click the last link for an alphabetical list of all our online nursing journals.

Click the link below to browse an alphabetical listing of all our nursing journals.

Online Journals in Nursing
Alphabetic list

Search for a Journal

Search for a journal title - Type the journal title into the box, click the magnifying glass icon, and then click on the name of the journal in the result list.

Finding Full Text Articles

Sometimes, it can be difficult to find the actual full text of an article. This guide will demonstrate where to find the full text button in all library databases.

No Full Text?

If you need an article from a journal that the library does not subscribe to, you can order a copy of it using a process called Interlibrary Loan. This video will show you how to submit a request.

Guidelines

Guideline Centeral NGC Summaries
Replaces National Guideline Clearinghouse. Includes summaries of key guidelines.
Trip Medical Database
Search for guideline topic and then select country of origin in the Guidelines section on the right.

Books

The library has a large collection of nursing textbooks, guides, handbooks, and more. Some are in print while others are online. The best way to search for books is to use CatQuest.

E-Book Collections

These databases provide direct access to specific e-book collections. Search by general topic or browse.

AccessMedicine
Lippincott Nursing Books@Ovid A collection of clinical resources and toolkits covering a broad spectrum of pediatrics. Includes the Red Book Online, the AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care, and a variety of quick reference and well-child resources.