As the land-grant university library in Vermont, the UVM Libraries make it part of their mission to make our resources and services available to Vermonters. All citizens of Vermont can visit the UVM Libraries, get a library card or consult with a reference librarian. Learn about who can use the library and explore our collections.
We partner with classroom teachers, school librarians, public librarians, non-profit organizations and community groups to share access to our rich library resources and services.
School groups can request to tour Howe Library. Often general in nature, these tours will highlight key features of library spaces, introduce students to services available in an academic library, and provide them with resources to help them with their own research. Request a session.
Our Special Collections library provides school groups, community organizations and area colleges and universities with opportunities to explore their unique collection. Email Special Collections to make arrangements for a visit.
Are you a public or school librarian or community group that needs research support? Do you have a group of patrons interested in digging deeper into a topic? Topical research workshops are available in our Howe Library classroom in Burlington through our Community Outreach Manager. These workshops can also come to you through our Libraries-on-the-Road program (and may occur either at your public library or at an Extension office near you, depending on request).
NEW! Spring 2025: Public health information workshops are now available at the Howe Library or at your home library. Similar in structure to other research workshops, these sessions will:
Read about our opportunities and request a session.
Additionally, our Special Collections library is open to public to work with their collection of rare books, university archives and the Vermont Research Collection. The best way to plan is to email Special Collections.
